What does an EPC mean to a landlord?

NLA Representative Christine Fernandes gives a landlord's take on EPCs

Well…..probably not a lot –  most only bother with them as it is a requirement to be able to market your property to let.

Of course this is only my opinion, but I think that realistically this will be the view across the vast majority of Landlords.

Although, perhaps I am being pessimistic and not giving credit those that care. I am sure there are some landlords out there who see EPCs as more than just an obstacle to letting – but it is difficult to see their value at times.

New Legislation relating to EPC’s comes into force on 6th April 2012 . It advises  that to market a property for rent or sale the EPC must be displayed within 7 days of commencement.

This legislation, although very, commendable really doesn’t make much of a difference to me as a Landlord. I have EPCs for my properties, the fact that I now have to display them whilst I market the property is no great effort for me.

I can honestly say that not one tenant I have rented to has ever accepted my offer of providing them with an EPC. The point is further stressed when I show them a copy and you can clearly see they are not at all interested.

My disappointment is that Legislation should have scratched the surface a little bit deeper and looked at what should happen once an EPC is done.

EPC’s are held on a central register – this register should use to filter homes with lower rating EPC’s  –

This way we can identify where we can make an immediate impact. Given the poor reputation we landlords have, I would welcome the Government establishing teams to work with owners of property with poorer rating EPCs.

This would ensure that owners whether they be private landlords, owner occupiers or housing associations, in this predicament, are given support and advice about options available to them.

Ultimately, to achieve the longer-term targets of reduced emissions nearly all housing stock will have to have zero emission.

We all need to change our mind set and focus on the long-term goals. Teams, as I’ve suggested at a local level should be working with landlords, letting agents and their respective associations alike. Otherwise most of us will continue to pay little heed to EPCs or what they are supposed to represent.

————-

NLA members qualify for a 10 per cent discount from a NLA EPCs . To find out more about their range of professional assessments carried out by a nationwide network of fully qualified and accredited Domestic Energy Assessors please visit the NLA website.

3 thoughts on “What does an EPC mean to a landlord?

  1. Christine is so right here. I rent to students who might be expected to be keen on ‘saving the world’ or at least being ‘energy efficient’ to save on bills but their eyes glaze over when I show them the EPC’s.
    I always stress that what they are seing is a ‘good’ rating, as I have installed measures to improve energy efficiency, but what they want to know is specifically how much the gas and electric will cost.
    Having to show them the whole document is not going to help engage interest in the document itself. Sad but true.

  2. I think the whole EPC is farcical and a waste of money. Very few people even understand what it all means. Instead of a compulsory EPC, money would have been better spent in offering grants or business rates or tax relief for any improvements that lead to energy efficiency. One of the most successful promotions of energy efficiency measures was the giving of free energy efficient bulbs to all households. This led to millions of people starting to use these bulbs and the gradual adaption of this habit has now made this universally popular. Why cannot something similar be done to improve energy efficiency of properties. This would create massive demand and many new jobs leading to increased tax revenues and making a good dent in the deficit. It is not austerity we need, it is growth and development.

  3. I have no idea which way round the scale works. I am buying a flat with a rating of 38/41 but what does that mean. The house I am selling had a rating of 389. But the assessor reckoned even though we had converted to low energy lighting, had the cavity walls insulated and the loft double insulated it could still save more money. So please please help!!!

Leave a Reply

